David Shuey
3 min readMay 27, 2017

--

I think I have space to give Jossif Ezekilov some credit because he once jumped on a post I wrote and critiqued my arguments. (Tip, Jossif: You might want to fix your link “Rantt News” away from Inquisitr) But he was fair, and we had a mature dialogue. It’s more than I can say about some of the replies on this page, particularly from Caitlin “please subscribe/pay me” Johnstone. I don’t begrudge working writers, but there’s obvious bias when she writes on Reddit:

  • “I’ve stumbled into a gig writing snarky progressive political opinion pieces that folks seem to enjoy.”
  • “Also if you can spare a few bucks I could really use some support on Patreon because losing my Inquisitr gig was a big kick in the bank account.”

There’s a huge swath of the self-righteous far-left THAT HELPED TRUMP WIN that wants to read brain-numbing click-bait against neoliberalism and the “establishment,” so she fills the market. I’m not sure how much of a joke Johnstone’s “snark” line was in Reddit, as she claims it was. It seems to me she’s cynically catering to the masses, the people whose head is still in the sand pre-and-post election that I wrote about with hard evidence as essential to Trump winning. (If it was the Democrat party’s fault, it was partly by lining up with the identity politics of the day.) To them, and Johnstone, I say: Your purity and PC tactics don’t work, and obviously help us end up with Republican majorities when a slim number of people vote Green or say “they’re all the same” and stay at home. This is why we argue with you. Democrats are far more humanist and “of the people” than Republicans on the policy end. Because we’re in a capitalist society, they use capital and sometimes work with business — shocker! But infamous “Wikileaks-collusion-in-DNC” really said nothing about corruption, despite the silly interpretations that even mainstream media fell for. Americans aren’t all far-left, and “big tent” coalitions are helpful in a Democracy. Also, you don’t have a monopoly on greater peace and justice (and I saw this as a former war-protester and activist).

Johnstone also loves to battle any naysayers, or block stay at home moms, as she did this month. Again, I find this a tactic for gaining followers. Or she’s the most thin-skinned writer on Earth. There’s a bit of paranoid self-protection here, too. Her rebuttal where she says “I demand a retraction with this letter included therein in full” (her bold) is an indication of this. You may not have given permission to be part of Russia propaganda sites, but your content certainly lines up to serve them.

Like the new right’s Milo, which enrages the left, maybe we should just ignore the provocateurs?

She is intellectually low hanging fruit. Simply, no, the world would not be in full-on war-monger mode with Hillary Clinton. Just as we weren’t with Bill Clinton nor Barack Obama, particularly in comparison to the two Bush presidencies.

I think there’s an ironic song by a favorite of mine Natalie Merchant and 10,000 Maniacs that befits Johnstone: “Candy, give them what they want.” But instead of giving us consumerist sweet tarts, you serve up spoonfuls of anti-Liberal party red hots. And it burns hole in the world big enough for Trump’s orange head to fit through.

--

--

David Shuey

Writer. Researcher. Designer. Human seeking better outcomes for all. Empiricism, relevant facts, and logical arguments > simple narratives.